Students from Skyview High School and Vancouver iTech Preparatory recently were named recipients of Aspirations in Computing awards.

Affiliate winners

  • Phoebe Abbruzzese, Skyview
  • Aleah Breen, Skyview
  • Claire Russell, Skyview
  • Simmi Sen, Skyview
  • Abigail Andersen, iTech Prep

Honorable mentions

  • Emma Fancher, Skyview
  • Sage Ford, Skyview
  • Sofia Lacki, Skyview
  • Karen Page, Skyview

Aspirations in Computing awards reflect students’ computing experience and activities, leadership abilities, tenacity and future plans. The award is given by the Oregon/Southwest Washington affiliate of the nonprofit National Center for Women and Information Technology. This year, 72 students were selected in the Oregon/Southwest Washington region.

Affiliate winners and recipients of honorable mentions will be recognized at an event in the spring and are eligible for scholarship and internship opportunities as well as prizes. They also will gain entry into a national network of peers, professionals and volunteers in computing and related fields.

Kim Hansen, Skyview, and Cyndy Hagin, iTech, are their teachers and advisers.