• Marshall Youth Leadership Awardees

Nearly 40 high school seniors have been  nominated for the Marshall Youth Leadership Award, given by the Fort Vancouver National Trust. The award honors Clark County’s high school seniors who exemplify the leadership of the award’s namesake, General George C. Marshall.

The nominees include 15 Vancouver Public Schools students:

  • Autumn Beck, Fort Vancouver High School
  • Elizabeth Bronder, Hudson’s Bay High School
  • Leticia Chacon, Fort Vancouver High School
  • Astrid DuBois, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
  • Kaitlyn Hill, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
  • Makena Kerr, Fort Vancouver High School
  • Sarah Kleier, Columbia River High School
  • Matthew McBroom, Hudson’s Bay High School
  • Deanna Medina, Fort Vancouver High School
  • Xuan Nhi T. Nguyen, Fort Vancouver High School
  • Sequoia Pullella-Barca, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
  • Zachary Sandoval, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
  • Courtney Schmit, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
  • Emily Torjusen, Vancouver iTech Preparatory
  • Makenzie Wilson, Vancouver iTech Preparatory

Elizabeth Bronder and Astrid DuBois are two of five finalists for the award. The winner, along with the recipient of the Marshall Public Leadership Award, will be announced on Wednesday, March 9.

The Youth Leadership Award winner will receive a $2,500 college scholarship; $500 paid summer internship in the Fort Vancouver National Trust’s Celebrate Freedom office; opportunities to meet local elected representatives and participate in Celebrate Freedom events; and a biography of General Marshall, who while in Vancouver was a brigadier general and commander of the 5th Infantry Brigade at Vancouver Barracks.

Five former Vancouver Public Schools students have received the Youth Leadership Award since it was created in 2000. They are 2002 recipient Kandi Bauman-Garvey, Hudson’s Bay High School; 2004 recipient Anya Pavlovic, Columbia River High School; 2008 recipient Renata Fusso, Skyview High School; 2010 recipient Lindsey Elhart, Hudson’s Bay High School; and 2014 recipient Jose Scott, Fort Vancouver High School.

Photo and video courtesy of the Fort Vancouver National Trust.