Students from three Vancouver schools were nominated for or received awards in the Northwest Regional Student Production Awards. The awards were presented on June 5 as part of the 58th Annual Northwest Regional Emmy Awards. Students from Washington, Oregon, Idaho and Wyoming submitted more than 155 entries this year, and the following VPS students earned recognition.

Live sporting event/game

Award recipients (tie)

Columbia River High School • CR Sports Wrestling vs. RA Long, Feb. 4, 2020
Director: Keegan Duke, Director
Audio: Landry Smith
Camera: Michael Ryan
Graphics: Tarren Orr
Producer: Jaxon Pace

Columbia River High School • CR Sports Girls’ Basketball vs. Black Hills Districts, Feb. 14, 2020
Director: Miles Campbell
Audio: Calvin Andres
Camera: Keegan Duke
Camera: Michael Ryan
Camera: Jaelyn Gaylor
Graphics: Tarren Orr
Instant replay: Emery Leifeste
Announcer: David Ryan
Producer: Jaxon Pace

This is the third consecutive year that Columbia River has taken home Northwest Regional Student Production Awards in this category.

Short form fiction

Award recipients (tie)

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics • Death of a Mediocre Human
Director: Nathan Keldsen
Cinematographer: Ian MacDonald
Assistant director: Brooke Cruz
Producer: Natalie McNulty
Actor: Cassy Akimseu-Arnold
Sound: Eleanor Winkley

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics • Neighborhood Watch
Director/cinematographer/editor: Nathan Keldsen
Producer/actor: Natalie McNulty
Writer/cinematographer/director/editor: Cassy Akimseu-Arnold


Vancouver School of Arts and Academics • Loose Ends
Cinematographer/writer/editor: Ian MacDonald
Writer/actor/editor: Nathan Keldsen
Director/writer: Brooke Cruz
Actor/cinematographer: Natalie McNulty
Writer: Cassy Akimseu-Arnold
Actor: Amy Rapp
Actor: Alyssa Maggi

Skyview High School • Soul Mates
Kaden Westhusing

Music video

Award recipient

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics • Sweet Persimmon
Director/cinematographer/editor/actor/musician: Taim Isreb
Actor: Amy Rapp, Actor
Cinematographer/assistant director: Constantine Belenko
Audio producer/actor/musician: Owen Gebhard
Actor/musician: Meg Hildreth
Actor/musician: Kaden Waldbauer
Actor/musician: Kellen Landis


Vancouver School of Arts and Academics • Blood Goes Everywhere
Producer: Isis Eggleston

Public service announcement

Award recipient

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics • Sleep Well Tonight
Producer/actor: Constantine Belenko
Actor: Finn Andrade


Vancouver School of Arts and Academics • Patience is a Virtue
Producer: Brooke Cruz

Janine Blackwell, Columbia River; Andy Berhow, Vancouver School of Arts and Academics; and Nancy Wistrand, Skyview High School, are the students’ advisers.

All regional award-winning entries are automatically submitted for consideration in the National Student Production Awards presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.