Vancouver iTech Preparatory is one of seven schools to receive the state’s Innovative Schools designation for 2016. It is the only VPS and Southwest Washington school to be selected this year.

The winners were chosen by a statewide committee of education leaders and experts who recommended schools for the designation based on their 95 percent or higher participation in state tests and the following criteria:

  • Level of creativity and experimentation
  • Incorporation of best practices and research
  • Increase in student achievement and/or closing achievement gaps
  • Collaboration with parents and the community
  • High staff morale and engagement

The 2016 Innovative School designees were recognized at the statewide school awards ceremony at Union Gap School on May 10.

The total number of Innovative Schools in Washington state is 34, which includes two other VPS schools awarded previously, Sarah J. Anderson Elementary School and Vancouver School of Arts and Academics. The program began in 2011.

“We’re extremely proud of all that these schools are doing to connect with their communities and engage business and higher ed in their work,” said Dorn. “Their creative approaches not only promote better student learning. They improve teacher and staff morale, increase positive behavior, and help close the achievement gap. I applaud their willingness to risk doing things differently and serve as laboratories for new ideas.”

(Pictured above: iTech Preparatory Principal Christina Iremonger)